Natural Fiber Composites

We process natural fiber reinforced plastics using compression molding. These usually consist of natural fibers (hemp, flax) and a polypropylene matrix or polyactide. Depending on the fiber length, the fiber-reinforced composite is thermally molded. This creates an extremely robust molded part, which has modified properties due to its fiber reinforcement.
  • Since 2019, we have been researching in a 3-year research project with the TU Chemnitz on compressing a natural fiber strand (movable staple fibers) in a PP sleeve for the targeted reinforcement of cases
  • Natural fiber composites contain a lower density than fiberglass or mineral fillers and are therefore much lighter. Nonetheless, NFPC are comparably stiff and strong, therefore they represent a legitimate alternative to other fiber composite materials like fiberglass or carbon fibers.
  • Other benefits of natural fibers are their price stability and independence from the oil price. Thus, the costs of components can be kept stable for years. The production and processing of NFPC requires less energy than fiberglass or carbon fibers, which makes natural fiber composites far more CO2 neutral. In addition, NFPC almost burn CO2-neutral and residue-free.

Collapsible content

Cases and Containers

Cases and containers made from natural fiber composites are on the one hand very light but at the same time robust and shock-resistant. NFPC can be used from simple containers to special cases or classic travel suitcases.

Furniture Industry

In the furniture industry, the natural fiber composites are suitable for all types of molded parts and are thus often substitutes for wooden objects. Examples of applications are chair shells, stool seats, wall elements, ceiling elements or storage containers

Automotive

In the automotive industry, NFPC are used in a variety of ways, for example for door panels, hat racks, instrument panels, pillar trim or other components.

Product examples made from natural fiber composites

We primarily use natural fiber composites to manufacture cases. The material is optimally suitable due to its extreme light weight, heat and cold resistance and low splintering tendency. Due to the material mix of 50% renewable fibers, the products are environmentally friendly and are produced CO2 neutral in our production.

Naturfaserverstärkter Kunststoff

Wir verarbeiten naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe im Pressverfahren. Diese bestehen meist aus Naturfasern (Hanf, Flachs) und einer Polypropylen-Matrix oder Polyactid. In Abhängigkeit der Faserlänge wird im Pressverfahren der faserverstärkte Kunststoff thermisch geformt. Hierdurch entsteht ein äußerst robustes Formteil, welches durch seine Faserverstärkung modifizierte Eigenschaften aufweist.
  • Seit 2019 forschen wir in einem 3 jährigen Forschungsprojekt mit der TU Chemnitz daran einen Naturfaserstrang (bewegliche Stapelfasern) in einer PP-Hülle zur gezielten Verstärkung von Koffern mit zu verpressen.

  • Naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe haben eine geringere Dichte als Glasfasern oder mineralische Füllstoffe und sind somit weitaus leichter. Trotzdem sind NFK aber vergleichbar steif und fest und sind so eine echt Alternative zu anderen Faserverbundwerkstoffen wie CFK oder GFK.

  • Weitere Vorteile von Naturfasern sind ihre Preisstabilität und unabhängig vom Erdölpreis. So lassen sich die Kosten für Bauteile über Jahre stabil halten. Die Herstellung und Verarbeitung von NFK erfordert weniger Energie als GFK oder CFK, dies macht naturfaserverstärkte Kunststoffe weit CO2 neutraler. Zudem verbrennen NFK fast CO2-neutral und rückstandsfrei.

Einklappbarer Inhalt

Koffer und Behälter

Koffer und Behälter aus naturfaserverstärkten Kunststoffen sind zum einen sehr leicht aber gleichzeitig robust und stoßresistent. NFK eignen sich von einfachen Behältern zu Spezialkoffern oder klassischen Reisekoffern.

Möbelindustrie

In der Möbelindustrie eignen sich die naturfaserverstärkten Kunststoffe für alle Arten von Formteilen und sind somit oft Ersatz für Holzobjekte. Beispiele für Anwendungen sind Stuhlschalen, Hockersitze, Wandelemente, Deckenelemente oder Aufbewahrungsbehälter.

Automobil

In Automobilen werden NFK vielseitig eingesetzt, so beispielsweise für Türverkleidungen, Hutablagen, Armaturenbrette, Säulenverkleidungen oder andere Bauteile.

Produktbeispiele aus naturfaserverstärkten Kunststoffen

Hauptsächlich setzen wir naturfaserverstärkten Kunststoff im Koffersegment ein. Das Material eignet sich hier optimal durch eine extreme Leichtigkeit, Wärme- und Kältebeständigkeit und eine geringe Splitterneigung. Durch den Materialmix aus 50% nachwachsenden Rohstoffen sind die Produkte damit umweltfreundlich und werden in unserer Produktion CO2 neutral produziert.